Skip to content

First MCBC Board of Directors Meeting

The Malaysia-China Business Council (MCBC) Board of Directors held its first meeting on May 3, 2012. This is the first board meeting of MCBC after spending the last six months in getting the council registered as a non-profit limited company.

MCBC was established on April 24, 2002 and had since been led by an executive committee. The new board comprises the 11 members of the original executive committee, including Tan Sri Ong Ka Ting. The meeting elected Tan Sri Ong as the Chairman and endorsed the new line-up. It also adopted the new Memorandum and Articles of Association and appointed the company secretary.

Speaking to the board as the new Chairman, Tan Sri Ong said the meeting was historical for the Council which would continue to help strengthen and deepen Malaysia-China bilateral relationship, especially economic and trade cooperation and exchanges in line with the vision and objectives of the council.

He said the registration of MCBC as a non-profit organization and the first BOD meeting represented a milestone in the history of MCBC and signaled a new era of development.

The first MCBC Board of Directors

Chairman: Tan Sri Ong Ka Ting


Dato’ Abdul Majid Khan

Dato’ Dr. Michael Yeoh

Datuk David Chua

Datuk Tan Kim Leong

Mr. Tan Kai Hee

Dato’ Syed Norulzaman

Dato’ Syed Amin Aljeffri

Mr. Zulkifly Zakaria

Dato’ Beh Hang Kong

Dato’ Teo Tong Kooi

BOD members with the MCBC legal advisor, Mr Quek Ngee Meng (first from right) and the company secretary, Mr Nicholas Tan (fifth from left).
For the album: A group picture after the first BOD meeting. From the left are Mr Tan Kai Hee, Datuk Tan Kim Leong, Dato’ Beh Hang Kong, Dato’ Syed Norulzaman, Tan Sri Ong Ka Ting, Dato’ Abdul Majid Khan, Mr Zulkifly Zakaria and Dato’ Teo Tong Kooi. Directors who are not in the picture are Dato’ Dr. Michael Yeoh, Datuk David Chua, Dato’ Syed Amin Aljeffri.

Releated Posts